Celebrating Ied in the middle of Corona Pandemic

Twenty fourth and the twenty fifth of May are celebrated as Ied Mubarrak in Indonesia. These two days are special or a big day for Muslims in Indonesia, when Muslims celebrate their victory after thirty days of fasting. My wife as a Muslim also celebrates this and of course, I also join the celebration. Who would want to miss a good day with full of good foods?
My wife on this day cooks special dishes for Lebaran, such as ketupat (rice wrapped up with banana leaves or coconut leaves), opor ayam (chicken white curry), and sambal goreng ati (beef’s heart red curry). This year, my wife only cooked these three dishes due to the restriction day. Even though just three dishes, I can enjoy the food to the fullest because there won’t be any guests visiting our house.
Yes, this year Ied Mubarrak is different from the past years where so many guests used to visit our house for celebrating and exchanging good wishes, the children are coming to visit our house because we gave them the “special” envelope, and some of our co-workers are also coming to visit and we share some stories and foods. The past years where we also have to visit my in law houses and wish them as well as enjoy the foods, visiting my wife’s grandparent’s house while having a vacation in some beaches nearby then this year none of them happened. This year, we just stayed at home, eating what we have, sharing foods with neighbors through the fence of our house, and sending wishes to them by Whatssap or phone calls. Furthermore, we cannot have sungkem, a Javanese tradition for young people like us to go to the elders to seek their blessing and forgiveness which we have done in the past and my wife cannot do Sholat Ied which is the special pray in the Ied Mubarrak. Our housing area is so quiet and everyone just stays at home. We do not see people from outside of the housing area visiting our area. I think everyone understands how important is the social distancing and following the government advice to just stay at home. Only the delicious aroma of good foods roaring from their kitchens and it makes my stomach start growling.
For me, I cannot say that I prefer Ied Mubarrak of this year because every Ied Mubarrak we have something special. My wife also told me the same thing. This time, we only celebrate Ied Mubarrak in our own house, with our love and happiness.

Leave a comment