Yogya Culinary on Wednesday

This Wednesday is the regent election for twenty seven provinces in Indonesia and it becomes a national holiday. Since me and my wife live in the special region, so we do not have any election. It means we have so much time in this holiday. At first, we did not have any plans to go out because of the corona virus’s status, but then we decided to have our meal outside.

We just went to the place near us. Our first stop is the Soto Ceker (yellow soup with chicken’s feet) in Sagan street. The place is just five minutes to our house and it is a street foods. The place opens early in the morning until nine in the morning. The Soto Ceker is popular around my neighbours and they like to go there as well. This place does not have any name and it is the only soto seller in the area so it is easy to find. My wife loves soto ceker so much, while I am not fond of eating chicken feet. I just order soto without the chicken’s feet and I asked the seller to put two big chicken legs for me.

The yellow soup is so yummy and I love the broth which is full of aromatic seasoning. We accompany our meal with ice tea and eating banana for the closing.

From there, we walked around the area and left our motor bike near us so we can burn out our calories. After we did a light walk and a bit exercise, we rode our motorbike to search for es krim rujak (spicy sweet fruit salad with ice cream).

The seller is also easy to find and it is also five minutes to my house. The seller has just open his small stall in front of the supermarket where we used to go every time to shop for our groceries. I love the taste of this Indonesia’s fruit salad. It has star fruit, mango, papaya, cucumber, saipan mango/mangifera odorata (November is the season for it), jicama (bengkoang in bahasa Indonesia), and water apple with tangy and sweet salad sauce. I can eat two cups of the rujak with a lot of ice cream.

Having my stomach full of yummy foods is not the end of our culinary adventure. We decided to buy lumpia goreng (fried spring rolls).

The lumpia’s seller is just near the rujak’s seller so we are so happy to get them easier. We bought fried prawn spring rolls, fried squail’s egg spring rolls, chicken spring rolls, and vegetable spring rolls. One spring roll costs around nine rupees. I can imagine that we can eat as much as we want at home. Then we just went home with our lumpia and rested at home until dinner time.

At night, we just ate lumpia and Indomie goreng (fried noodles) with so many vegetables and my wife also fried chicken to satisfy my stomach. It was just a wonderful holiday for me.

Leave a comment